• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Toyota Vitz 2009 Gear Box repair

Isuma

Question

I am very new to cars. I have a vitz 2009 model and its mileage 80000 Km now. When I drive I can feel the gear changing automatically, so I think its time to a gear box repair. So I need to know whether 80K is the normal gear box repair interval or else. If I change gear box oil and wait until 100K? And how much cost to have a gear box repair?

• Like 1

11 answers to this question

Better get a trusted friend with some experience in vehicles, preferably a vitz with a similar gearbox (I assume CVT) to drive it and see whether it really has a problem. If the car has been properly maintained with timely CVT oil changes, it is unlikely to cause problems at 80k km assuming the milage is genuine. The other option is to take the car to the agents to have a look. Your local 'makabass' may take you for a ride if he gets to know you have no clue so better avoid them.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Isuma said:

I am very new to cars. I have a vitz 2009 model and its mileage 80000 Km now. When I drive I can feel the gear changing automatically, so I think its time to a gear box repair. So I need to know whether 80K is the normal gear box repair interval or else. If I change gear box oil and wait until 100K? And how much cost to have a gear box repair?

Has the gearbox oil ever been changed??

If people bother to change fluids on time and carry out periodic preventive maintenance then there should be no need to contend with a large repair at such a low mileage

Just because the shifting is a little pronounced jumping to a conclusion that the gearbox needs to be repaired is premature and excessive I feel. As @CNX said, have a sound qualified professional at recognized outfit (the agents even) have a look at it.