• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Diff OIL for Subaru

najathugail

Hi Guys , 

I am new to this Forum, and all your advice and help will be much appreciated .

I recently got a Subaru STI 5 ( 1999 ) (2000 CC Turbo )  , not much driven ( 58,000 KM ) what i need to know is ,

1. Whats the LSD oil should i USE for Front DIFF and Back DIFF ( I have no clue whats the OIL used before in this car )
2. For engine oil i am using 10W-40 Liqy Molly - > will that be ok 
3. Gear Oil Vs Diff Oil , is that the same or different ?? 

please advice me on this , thank you in advance 

3 hours ago, Twin Turbo said:
  1. 75w90 synthetic gear oil is recommended
  2. Engine oil viscosity is ok.
  3. same other than automatic.

Mate, I'm no expert in diff oils since I honestly don't know. For the benefit of the OP, please state where you found out the information --> Translation - Where did you copy this from? 

If this comes from your experience, please state the actual model of the car that you had and other relevant information for the benefit of the OP. He bought the car recently and if he follows up on your advice and if you're wrong, he's looking at a world of pain. Be responsible. 

Apologies if my assumption about your advice is wrong. 

13 hours ago, Twin Turbo said:
  1. 75w90 synthetic gear oil is recommended
  2. Engine oil viscosity is ok.
  3. same other than automatic.

I got the feeling that OP implied by the phrase "will that be OK" was to ask for the use of engine oil in differentials? (I could be wrong though). In  that case the answer should be NO.

21 minutes ago, Rumesh88 said:

I got the feeling that OP implied by the phrase "will that be OK" was to ask for the use of engine oil in differentials? (I could be wrong though). In  that case the answer should be NO.