• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Hello everyone,

I recently bought a pre-owned Mazda Familia BJ5P (YoM 2003) car. I'm a newbie to Mazda and also not much experienced in automatic drives.But I'm willing to get to know this car very well. :)

First of all there are few things which I would like to get advice from you Mazda experts.
The car has done 132000km(seems it's genuine) but the previous owner couldn't provide me with its proper service records.

• What would be the most appropriate services, Changing engine oil, filters, ATF etc?(The colour of ATF was quite good)
  • The steering was a little too tight as if it was lacking power steering a bit. Wheel alignments and the power steering fluid level was OK. What might be the possible reasons for this?
  • What is the function of the Hold button? Is it exactly the same as the OD on/off button on some other vehicles?(I could find a thread on AL on this hold button stuff, but the exact functioning of the "Hold" was not that clear to me)
  • I got to know that this car has Mazda ZL engine. So is it ZL or ZL-DE? Is there any difference in those two?(I just found that it differs from the ZL-VE with variable valve timing)
  • I would like to have an owner's manual and a workshop manual for this model.(I could find a 2003 Mazda Protege owner's manual but it was different in some ways, the engine was 1.6/2.0 there. Is it that Familia is the JDM and the Protege is US/European?) How could I get the exact owner's/workshop manuals for the Mazda Familia BJ5P?

I would like to share the experiences and knowledge with Mazda Familia owners/experts and also willing to join with good Mazda/Familia clubs or forums if there are any.

Thanks in advance. :)

Hello everyone,