• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Diy - Domestic Solar Power Systems

DVT

Dear all,

This is not abot automative but domestic renewable energy. Thouht that you will want to share some thoughts.

As you know the electricity bill is giving us heart attacks.

Thought of doing a research to see how feasiable to install a solar powered energy system at home.

Contacted about 3 vendors and rough cost eatimations are below

1kWp (125 units on average capacity) about 550,00 LKR

1.5kWp ( 125 units on average capacity) about 700,00 LKR.

Warrenty - 25 years for the solara pannels / 10 years for inverter.

I am now considering if I can buy these units seperately (pannel and inverter and other units) and install by myself for knowledge/fun and most importantly due to higher initial cost.

I am not an engineer by profession but good in basics.

Please share your thoughts that might help my DIY project.

Thanks

• Like 1

Basically you can do it. Calculate your energy consumption and find out how many panels you need based on the output of each panel you are going to buy. Inverters are expensive. So first you find the total cost that will incur if you need to do it by yourself.

Also you have to get permission from electricity board and ask for a special meter which will measure the total power generated and consumed that the rest will be billed for you. (Basically a meter that can reverse your consumption at day time when panels provide electricity) If your inverter is up to the standard, you can get permission from electricity board and they will replace it.

Solar panels are expensive to buy at first but for the first 10 years they are meant to be working without any deduction of efficiency but after that there will be a little loss. ( may be 10- 20%)