• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Servicing A Honda Insight

Binga Honda

Dear Friends,

Well its time for me to service my Insight and I wish to know more before I go for it…

Please tell me;

About the Oil SAE grade I should use…? Coz now the car is in SL do I need to go for 0W-20 as per the manual? When I was reading on the Net some say to go for 5W-20 or 10W-30 but my worry is that these oil grades are very low and they are just good for fuel efficient but not to save the engine with the friction!!! Am I not correct? So is it ok to go for at lest 10W-30 or 20W-40 ?

I am new to Automatic gear boxes so please tell me the intervals that you guys prefer to change the gear oil and from where to do it? My car has a CVT gear box.

Is there a specific gear oil to be used and do I have to get it from the agents always?? If no; what sort of gear oil I should be looking for?

And finally one stop shop that I can get all of the above done within the Colombo area... Or any place my Insight people has gone for servicing which you can recommend

Thanks….

Well i am hoping to hear some valuable information other than bashing whoever post some question about Hybrids...

please put up useful information, else leave the post alone.... People how are really want to help me please do so and post...

Thanks again...

Edited by Binga Honda
  • Like 1

Friend, Honestly, I know nothing about servicing insight. Why don't you contact Stafford Motors workshop.

Automobile Service Complex (Workshops & Spare parts)

63, Stork place, Colombo 10.

Contact Person: Lal Ganegoda (Senior Manager-Workshop)

Phone: +94 11 4741122

Fax: +94 11 2697423

• Like 1

Hey Binga, honestly I'm a complete stranger to hybrids - but if your manual says to use a particular type of oil, use that - don't get 'advice' from unknown quantities on the web - check your maunal.