• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Problem With Toyota Ist

TDMax

Hi,

I very recently bought myself a Toyota IST NCP60. YOM is 2004. Before this I did not have any experiences with hatchback cars. I noticed that when the car is on move, a hum comes from the rear end of the car. I felt as if it is the sound from tires on the rear end.

Further whenever i move out from the carpet road i hear a tuck tuck noise comming from the rear.. I removed all the accessories (spare wheel, car jack etc...) from rear and double checked the door still i could hear it.

Is this normal on an IST? Is it the Door? I hope some IST owners can help me out. Thank you mates..

Heya TDMax, firstly let me start off with the disclaimer that I'm no expert in identifying odd noises coming from peoples rear ends!!!! However, this could be several things in my rather shallow knowledge.

Rear-end noises (If you'll pardon the expression) coming 'from the wheel' could be:

1) The brakes. Remove rotor and check e-brake shoe.

2) The tyres. A hum when in motion could also be worn tyres. Check that.

3) Is the car RWD? Probably not, so we'll forget the rear differential.

4) Could it be the suspension? Get the struts, strut mounts, springs checked. The rear lower arms.

5) Grab hold of your exhaust tip and yank it up and down a bit (again no double meanings intended) as the noise could be an unstable exhaust mounting.

Ok thats all I can think of right now, will post any more ideas if they come to me. Please post what it was when you discover.

• Like 2

Heya TDMax, firstly let me start off with the disclaimer that I'm no expert in identifying odd noises coming from peoples rear ends!!!! However, this could be several things in my rather shallow knowledge.

Rear-end noises (If you'll pardon the expression) coming 'from the wheel' could be: