• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Importing A Very Old Car

lovinoldcars

hey,

i have been seriously considering the idea of importing a very old car that i love to sri lanka,a 1967 ford mustang ,to be exact, but from what i have heard,the max age of a car that could be imported to sl is 5 years or less. could somebody please tell me if i could in fact bring down this car and what the tax rate would be? Could i register it?

I am a newbie so i do not know anything about the subject.please advise.

Thanks in advance

Unless you owned the car overseas and is returning to SL for good, you can't import them off a sale to SL.

Mate.Can't we import it as a gift??? any possibility? :unsure:

Edited by AbeysinghE

No expert on this area. But I have seen a few classic vehicles on the road, even with English number plates (modern version not the pre-1972 version). As far as I know, the Classic Car Club of Ceylon used to help the importation of classics by enthusiasts (perhaps they were cars owned by the same owners when they were overseas). You might wanna talk to them about it. Do a Google search for their website and contact information.

Mate.Can't we import it as a gift??? any possibility? :unsure:

AFAIK Gift Permit and Blue Permit both allow importing vehicles up to 10 years old. Don`t know whether the legislation has changed though.

Would be interesting to know the current regulations on the subject, difficult to find reliable info on the net. :(